Lenten Journey…Begins with Decluttering

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and I’m trying to put together a list of things I was to do/accomplish this season.  Most times I start out really good, but then half-ass it about halfway through.  One of my good friends, Angela, and I will be blog-sharing during Lent to help each other stay on track and focused on going deeper into our faith and relationship with Jesus.  Our thoughts, reflections and journey posts will all be found on her blog, The Nomadic Wife (http://thenomadicwife.wordpress.com/).

We’re both taking part in “40 Days to a Less Cluttered Home” (original idea from: http://www.keeperofthehome.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/8-weeks-to-declutter.pdf) event that our moms group is hosting.  Each day we have to de-clutter a certain part of our home, removing 10 items a week.  I can’t help but think about my soul and family life as I think about de-cluttering.  I am a do-er and have a lot of good ideas and things I want to DO.  But today I realized that one thing that I need to de-clutter from my life is my very part-time job.

I love working for The Back Porch Ministry (www.thebackporch.info), but after much thought, prayer and reflection I have found that the costs outweigh the benefits.  I don’t make enough to contribute anything significant to our finances, the added stress of deadlines, finding babysitters and working evenings/weekends is costing me family life and adding to too much time on my computer or phone.  I am not even making a big enough contribution to the organization anymore and need to let go of my “need” to have a “fulfilling” job so that I can open the position up to someone who can make a difference now, while I put more time and energy into fulfilling my vocation.

And I have peace about this.

One thought on “Lenten Journey…Begins with Decluttering

  1. Pingback: Lenten reflections | The Nomadic [W]ife

Leave a Reply

