7 Quick Take Tuesday (ya ya it’s supposed to be for Friday)

So lots has happened since the last time I blogged!

~1~

Biggest news is that we have a new pope!  Pope Francis was elected as leader of the Catholic Church a week ago today!  At 78 years old, he is taking on a big job, but in his 7 days as pontiff, he has already been making headlines!

pope

~2~

Training for my 5K obstacle course run in August is going well.  I ventured out into the slushy streets of Edmonton the other day and after a half hour run, came back cold, wet, muddy and thoroughly refreshed.  Today I am supposed to get my double jogging stroller delivered and hopefully can take the babies for a run with me 🙂

~3~

Things in the moving department have changed a little.  We’re still making plans to move, but not to the country as we originally hoped for.  After 6 months of planning it is a little disappointing to have “wasted” that time, but it was a learning experience and we will store that information for when the time is right to head out of the city.  For now, we’re actually going to look in Sherwood Park!  I love that city for it’s beauty, cleanliness and the fact that it’s still close to family and friends.

~4~

My addiction to Downton Abbey is growing, but my access to the third season has disappeared and I’m greatly disappointed.  I am hoping that I can find a way soon or else I will go through withdrawal.

~5~

Last month Ryan and I said we’d decreased our grocery budget by $300 and only spend $450/month!  With two babies and two adults, this seemed tricky, but a challenge I was willing to accept.  I love to coupon and meal planning so I combined this challenge to hobbies I already loved.  Last month I succeed and spent $450.16!  This month I’m already over by $4 and we still have 12 days left!  Not to worry! I still have coupons for free products and Shoppers Drug Mart points I can redeem for fruits/veggies/milk and yogurt!  This picture is from my March 15% off shopping trip.  I paid $50 for all of this (forgot to include in the picture a big box of 116 Pampers size 4 diapers) and saved over $80!

004

~6~

I’ve been crafty lately.  A few weeks ago I made two blankets for Ben.  One was a quilt that I sewed up and the other was a no-sew fleece blanket.  Last weekend my sister brought over a couple crochet hooks and a ball of yarn so that I can learn how to do that too!  I’m slowly learning that one 🙂

002

007

~7~

With only 10 days left until Good Friday, I feel like this Lent has sped by.  Like usually I started off strong, but slowly peetered off.  I had a fabulous confession last week at the Penitential Service which encouraged me to keep pressing on and to focus on certain areas of my life where I keep falling into sin.  Thankfully, I haven’t forgotten about the “small things” that I was trying to work on, and last week saw the rewards of doing something “small” with great love.  Thankfully reading “The Story of My Soul”, the autobiography of St. Therise, is something that I have been slowly, yet faithfully reading.

St. Anne (my 2013 patron saint) St. Therese (my Lenten journey patron saint), and St. Joseph (his solemnity feast day is today!), pray for us!

Leave a Reply

