I Am Blessed

On a day that two year old Naomi McPike was laid to rest, I found the the readings of today’s Mass to be quite fitting; the Gospel especially.

13 People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. 14 When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. 15 Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” 16 And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.

I spent more time treasuring Chloe today.  The little things she did were like precious jewels that I wish to collect in my memory.

This morning when I went to get her from bed, she was sitting and reading out loud, but quietly to herself.  The instant I entered the room, she gasped in delight and said, “Mommy!”  Immediately she stood up and reached for me.  I held her close and kissed her.  When she greeted her brother – ‘Ben-ja-ben!’ – my heart warmed at the love between the two.  She chattered in her own little language while she ate her peanut butter toast.  I watched in total awe while she played with her new Strawberry Shortcake toy: the simplicity and joy she felt while playing floored me.  Her father joined her in singing the Strawberry Shortcake theme song from the movie and I melted.

Because it’s such a cold, gloomy and rainy day, we took the kids to West Edmonton Mall just to walk around.  We took her to the Disney store and watched her ‘ooooo’ and ‘awwww’ over the dolls and pretty things.  She cuddled her favorite characters, but willingly put them back to move on to more fun.

This afternoon, I found poop in her hair.  POOP!  It was pretty disgusting, but I could only laugh as Ryan used a tissue to carefully remove it.  I washed her bedding and while remaking her bed, I thought lovingly of the precious little girl who would sleep there tonight.  I posted about this event in my mom’s group and Theresa, Naomi’s mother, replied: “I’m sorry but that’s awesome. Just what I needed to hear today.”  I realized how precious is every thing my daughter does.  Despite the fact that the poop was gross, it meant that she was alive and with me.  My mother’s heart still breaks for my friend Theresa and I honestly do not know how she has the strength to even write that on FB.

After supper, we just started to clean up, but Chloe told us: “Pray!  Pray!”  I was SO proud of her for reminding us that the family Rosary comes after supper.  We gave her one to hold; she made the sign of the cross and kissed the crucifix.  She sat through the beginning prayers and some of the first decade.  When I prayed, “Holy Mary Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.”  her little voice would say “…Mary…God…sinners…hour…AAAAA.  MEN!”

I watched her eating her popcorn tonight, and how she smiled at her daddy.  How when I kissed him, she came for her share in the kisses from us.  I kissed her so many times today that I can’t count them all.  I told her ‘I love you so much’ as often as I kissed her.

This wasn’t a planned post, but I felt that I needed to write because I am so grateful for what I have right now.  Healthy, happy children.  A wonderful, amazing, loving husband.  Warm home, and food in my belly.  Wonderful friends and family.  I am blessed.

2561986493_d51dc07b5e

Source

One thought on “I Am Blessed

Leave a Reply

