7 Quick Take (vol. 8): Books I Want to Read

~1~

61Gku4xhmGL__AA1500_

There is so much suffering in the world, and lately many of my friends have been suffering deeply.  Sometimes it’s hard to wrap our minds around how a loving God can allow such pain in our world, and even more so, how it can be part of His Divine Providence.  I want to read this book because I want a better grasp on suffering because it will inevitably come to my family one day too.

Dr. Peter Kreeft will be at the Catholic Family Life conference this year!  Ryan and I are struggling with whether we can justify the cost or not.  I’ll let you know what we choose to do.  You can buy The Purpose of Suffering here.

~2~

call-the-midwife

This book has been a bit hit with those who love the PBS tv shows Downton Abbey and Mad Men.  I’ve seen Downton – loved it – and am trying to avoid another addicting tv show – Mad Men AND Call the Midwife.  Because both my babies were born with the assistance of a midwife, this book has sparked my interest.  I looked into buying it at Coles last night, but unfortuantely I left my wallet at home and my husband will not approve of buying another book.  So looks like I’ll be ordering it from the library from now.  This is what Amazon.ca has to say about the book:

In the 1950s, twenty-two-year-old Jenny Lee leaves her comfortable home to move
into a convent and become a midwife in London’s East End slums. While delivering
babies all over the city, Jenny encounters a colorful cast of women—from the
plucky, warm-hearted nuns with whom she lives, to the woman with twenty-four
children who can’t speak English, to the prostitutes of the city’s seedier side.

Doesn’t it sounds GREAT?!  You can buy the first book of the trilogy here.

~3~

Gatsby_1925_jacket

I like a good ‘classic’ turned movie.  Basically, that’s the reason I want to read this book.  I almost bought a copy today at Superstore (25% off books) BUT I hate buying books with the movie poster as the book cover.  Gross.  Buy this copy here.

~4~

027_225px

I believe that learning more about the person God created me to be will help me to be a better wife, mother, daughter, friend, etc.  I have heard excellent things about this book (which is part of a series) and thankfully my mom has it so that I can borrow it from her.  You can buy your copy here.

~5~

the-temperament-god-gave-your-spouse

the-temperament-god-gave-your-kids

I want to read these books for the same reason as number 4.  Get them here.

~6~

Eight%20Cousins

LOVE this book!  When I was a teenager, we read it together as a family and I remember it being a favorite classic of mine.  I have a copy already and can’t wait to read it again, but to also share it with Chloe.  Get yours here.

~7~

imagesCAGGP30F

(Source)

I left this open because I’d love you to recommend a book for me to read.  Let’s see if I actually get any suggestions!

Happy Friday everyone.  Join Jen here today for her Quick Takes.

Leave a Reply

