Reflections from a ‘Martha’ Who Should be a ‘Mary’

Today I am learning a lesson from the Bible.  Not often do I feel so strongly confronted by the Truths written there and how they apply to my daily life, but today was one of those days.

As I buttled and hustled, grumbled and moaned about how terrible this day was turning out to be, Jesus started to work on my heart.  I could feel my blood pressure rising as I listened to children crying for their lunch and begging the soup to warm up quicker and the muffins to bake faster.  Ben was satisfied with a soup cracker for only so long.

While I sat feeding my ravenous son his lunch of mushroom soup and crackers I looked around my house and thought with bitter discouragement how cluttered, disorganized and completely messy every single room in the house is.  If the children could just leave me be for a little bit, I can clean and then maybe get some much needed packing done too!  When the muffins were finally done baking and cooling, they both sat quietly eating while I scurried around the house cleaning and putting things away, all the while cursing in impatience.

The kitchen was cleaned.  The bathroom was cleaned.  The kitchen table and cupboards wiped and the floor swept.  I tackled the messy faces and dirty diapers and sent the tired babies – one who woke up at 5:50am! – to bed and commenced to finish washing the final few dishes.

As I dipped my hands in the hot soapy water and wiped some trays, a still small Voice entered saying something to the effect of:

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[a] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42)

I suddenly remembered that in my busy-ness of the day, I had failed (again) in remembering to say my morning prayers!  AGAIN, I put other non-important things before Jesus, and slowly as it began to sink in, my heart repented.  I set the last dish down in the sudsy water and walked to the couch.  After saying a heartfelt prayer where I offered my ‘joys and sorrows’ of this day to Jesus, I felt a huge weight come off my shoulders.  The Mass prayers were exactly what I needed and reminded me to never put anything before Christ, because if I do, then I value that more than HIM!  I do not want that at all!

Today I am tired.  Actually I am exhausted and frustrated and fighting with my sins and vices.  I am struggling to be patient and kind, and to slow down to focus on my children (again) and not what needs to be done.  Just like our financial budget, I need to look at my time budget and trim where excess time should not be spent and divert that time to more important things.

So while my kids are sleeping, and since my time of reflection has come to an end, I will sign off and won’t be on again until tonight when I post about Day 5 of hair.  I hope you are NOT having a case of the Mondays and are enjoying your day simply because it’s another day!

2 thoughts on “Reflections from a ‘Martha’ Who Should be a ‘Mary’

  1. Oh boy! Could I ever relate. When you’re in the midst of it, it can be so tough and all your best intentions-stay just that, intentions. God Bless you in this very busy season of having little ones. The day will come when it gets easier and the sleep gets longer and the demands aren’t so demanding. Until then, give yourself grace and continue to let the Lord work in you. ~Blessings to you and your family~

Leave a Reply

