Just a Mom

A few months ago I was talking with my sister-in-law about her upcoming teaching career.  I was so excited for her and the beginning of this new stage in her life, but as she continued to think aloud, some of her words cut me.

“I want to have a really solid career before I become just a mom.” 

Instantly I felt very devalued for the role I play in society.  I spoke up and told her that there is nothing wrong with being ‘just a mom’ and wondered what she thought was so negative about being a mother.  Maybe she just didn’t think about her word choice.

Only a couple weeks later, I stopped by my old place of work.  Their board meeting was just finishing up and one member asked me: “So how does it feel to now be just a mom?” 

While I knew she had wonderful intentions, her choice of words stung but probably from because of the conversation with my sister-in-law.  “I’m not ‘just’ a mom you know.”  But I had nothing to follow up with.

Moms are the rock of society.  We can either make or break society because we raise the little ones who make this society.  From a simple little kiss on an owie, to a cuddle at 2am when there was a bad dream, to changing 8 poopy diapers in a day (that’s a true story): we are the ones who make the difference that no one sees, but the difference that society needs.

This article was a great encouragement to those of us who have those days where we feel like there is nothing special to us being ‘just a mom’.  At the end of the day, I’m happy to say that I am ‘just a mom’.

1 2

Leave a Reply

