30 Days of Frugal Meals – Days 1-7!

I was trying to decide how to go about my “30 Days of Frugal Meals”.  My weekly grocery shopping trips always include items that are on sale, have coupons for, are sporting the discounted stickers, and so following Louisiana Bride’s meals wasn’t going to work for me.  So here’s what I did.

Thursday is when the flyers come out, but I’m still not receiving mine yet.  So early Friday morning (during my second cup of coffee, Ben’s nap and Chloe’s Dora movie) I scanned the online flyers to see what was available and made my list.

Because of 15% off Tuesday (items bought on 15% Tuesday are not always meal planning items), I knew I’d have to make two trips for groceries this week for sure.  This was my 15% off “Tuesday” (one location in Sherwood Park let’s us get our 15% off on the Monday so we can stack as well) using coupons:

1236846_10153144390670136_1849884029_n

What did this get me, you ask?

– Free eggs
 – Free Lindt chocolate
 – Free Neumans Organic Alfredo Sauce
 – Free Eggo Minis x2
 – $1.99 Organic Milk x2
 – Free Batteries x8
 – Free Lays Chips x2
– Free Happy Planet Butternut Squash Soup
 – Free Happy Planet Juice x2
 – Free Melitta Coffee x2
 – Free Vaseline Spray x2
 – Free Tresemme Shampoo
 – Free Tresemme Conditioner
 – Free Catelli Pasta
– Free Quick Oats

Once my list was made and my coupons sorted, I threw some kiddie snacks into my purse and drove the 2 minutes to Superstore to see what treasures and goodies I could find.

#1 Sunday – Hamburgers & Hotdogs!

burgers

Because this was Ben’s birthday party we had to serve 16 people, but managed to still find a sweet deal! 

Breakdown:

1. Hot dogs (1 dozen) $2.97 (sale) x2

2. Hamburgers (8 pack) – $9.98 x2.  With this amazing deal from Superstore, we couldn’t go wrong.  All we had to do was buy the burgers!

3. Chips, juice, pickles, bunsFREE with burger purchase!

4. Hotdog bunsFREE from when we moved in!  My sister bought way too many and so we froze them.

5. Birthday cake – I made his cake with ingredients that we already had.

6. Beverages$2.50. I made iced tea ($5 container/used 1/2).

7. Veggie Platter – Ben’s godparents brought the veggie platter so we didn’t have to pay for it!

Cost of this meal to feed 16 people was under $30!

#2. Monday – Spinach Lasagna Rollups

rollups

I made homemade spinach dip using cream cheese and frozen spinach that I already had.  Toss in some onions and garlic and voila!  A really simple, healthy, delicious and FRUGAL meal! 

Breakdown:

1. Lasagna noodles$1.77/box

2. Spinach $1 – (already had it in the freezer)

3. Cream cheese$3 (already had it in the fridge)

4. Organic pasta sauce$1

Cost of this meal to feed 4 (with leftovers for Ryan the next day) was approximately $7!

#3. Tuesday – Homemade Mushroom Soup

soup

Last week at Superstore, there were a bunch of mushrooms for 50% off clearance.  When I saw that, I knew we’d be having mushroom soup this week (I ended up freezing some and giving some to a friend as well).  I used my cream coupon, bought no name stock, and already had butter, onions, spices etc to use for my recipe.  I can’t remember the exact breakdown for this meal, but remember the total.

It cost me approximately $6-$7 (out of pocket that week) to make 3 meals of mushroom soup instead of the regular $12-$13 it would have cost to make the same amount of meals.

#4. Wednesday – Sausages, Perogies & Salad

sausage

Breakdown:

1. Sausages – $13 but since we only used half the pack, I’d say $6.50

2. Perogies – $1.98

3. Organic Salad – under $2 (can’t remember exact amount).

4. Ranch dressing – FREE with stacking

5. Tomato – FREE from neighbours garden

Total cost of this meal to feed 4 people (with leftovers for all of us) is roughly $10.

#5. Thursday – Chicken, Pasta & Fresh Veggies

So my kids got sick starting Wednesday night and it was a loooooong night.  I was just happy to get a yummy and frugal meal on the table, and completely forgot to take pictures.  We BBQ’d chicken thighs, made pasta topped with butter and cheese, and had broccoli & cauliflower.  Chloe and Ben enjoyed it, and we even received a “Thank you for supper Mommy!” from Chloe!

Breakdown:

1. Chicken thighs – $10 (10 thighs).

2. BBQ Sauce – FREE (from a purchase earlier in the summer).

3. Pasta – FREE (from 15% off “Tuesday”)

4. Veggies – FREE (leftover veggies from the birthday party).

5. Cheese & Butter – 700g of cheese cost us $6.99 last week and butter $2.99.  We only used a tiny bit of each, but I’m not up for calculating that breakdown :P.

Total cost of this meal to feed 4 people (with leftovers for all of us) is slightly over $10!

#6. Friday – Grilled Cheese

Well, no one reeeeeally needs to see pictures of grilled cheese, do we?

Cheese – $3.50 (ish) for a package of Cracker Barrel Sliced Swiss.  MMMMM!

Bread – $0.89 for a LOAF of bread from Safeway (50% off sticker on it)

Total cost of this meal to feed 4 people is roughly $4.39.

#7. Saturday – Homemade Pizza

By this point I was starting to feel sick and hoping I didn’t catch what the babies had.  We made pizza dough in our bread machine and used some leftover Italian sausage, onions and cheese for the toppings.  This one is a little harder to breakdown because we made the dough at home.

pizza

Breakdown:

Dough – Unsure (10kg of flour was $6.99, yeast was $9, water was free)

Italian Sausage – “FREE” (cost was figured into what we made with this meat earlier in the week).

Organic Pasta Sauce – $1

Onions – Aprx. $0.33 (the bag of 6 medium onions was $1.97)

Cheese – $6.99 for 700g.  We used about half the block so, apx $3.50.

Total cost of this meal to feed 4 people (with leftovers for Ryan on Monday) was over $4.88.

PHEWF!  That was a lot to type up.  This week’s meals cost approximately $73!

Hopefully this post wasn’t too long and boring for you.  I think I’ll try doing a post daily now instead of weekly.  That might be better for all of us.

Leave a Reply

